Live & Laugh

Posted: August 4, 2016 in Down Under
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Hello from the other side…. 😀

Hey there folks! This is an update from May-June (the last one was actually one I wrote back in May, but just posted it yesterday)! 🙂 I’ve been up to a bunch of stuff!

What I’ve been up to these past few months:

Well, I went to New Zealand for 10 days in June, after the January Discipleship Training School graduated! Myself and one of my best friends who’s been staffing with me for a couple years, Rebekka from Germany, went together and rented a car and stayed at several YWAM bases, and did some couch surfing as well! The whole trip was amazing, we got to experience New Zealand, get some rest, get renewed and ready for the next school and have so much fun! I was so blessed to have been able to go. We met a lot of cool people who love Jesus and got to encourage some who don’t know the Lord! We visited Hobbiton, (one of my childhood dreams come true), climbed some mountains, visited the Hot Springs, explored some deep caves and went on a boat that floated underneath a million glow worms lighting our way, hung out in the city of Auckland and drove throughout the North Island. Thank you Jesus for opportunities like this! 🙂

 

Also, I turned 26! 🙂

My birthday was on July 1st, right after getting back from New Zealand, and I had a blast! I was able to skype with a lot of my family, opened my birthday package from my parents that had a bunch of Canadian chocolate, ate dinner out with all the YWAM staff still on base, ate some of my Canadian Maple Leaf birthday cake, and watched Tarzan with everyone. Wonderful 🙂

 

After that, on July 4th we started Staff Training! From then til the end of July, I was pretty much leading the whole base (the base leaders were all away on holiday), organizing and running staff training, planning and preparing the school and training my new DTS staff how to staff a DTS! It was a CRAZY month but so amazing to see myself stretched and the Lord’s faithfulness to preserve my sanity and strength. When the school started and all the other base leaders arrived back, I felt a big weight lift but I also was so amazed at how far the Lord has taken me in the past few years, there is NO WAY I would have been able to do this even a year ago, I would have freaked out and probably stressed so much and made myself sick. Wow, HE IS FAITHFUL and HE GIVES SO MUCH GRACE! Seriously, amazing.

13708243_665116886973198_826436451866937320_o

Also, as you know, I’ve been preparing the past 6 months for the July Music & Worship DTS, and it has now officially started! It’s the first time I’m leading a school fully on my own, so scary but exciting! 🙂 We just finished Week #2, having covered the topics of Character & Nature of God, Hearing the Voice of God and Repentance & Forgiveness. There are 13 students from North America and New Zealand, 4 boys and 9 girls. They’re amazing!!! Compared to other schools, it is a young group, but some things we felt strongly as a DTS staff team (there are 4 staffing the DTS and myself) before we started were that the Lord has gifted this group with an anointing in wisdom, discernment and understanding, that He was going to grow them & mature them fast, and that they were going to bring a level of consistency, steadfastness and peace such that this current generation has seen little of. I’m so excited to see that already happening! These guys are incredibly hungry for the things of God. And something we keep feeling the Lord telling us as a school is that faith is not built on emotion it’s built on the Fear of the Lord which leads to the knowledge of God and a deep deep wisdom & understand. Some amazing passages that God has spoken over us are

Hosea 6:3

Let us press on to know the Lord

Psalm 119:97-104

Oh, how I love your law!
    I meditate on it all day long.
Your commands are always with me
    and make me wiser than my enemies.
I have more insight than all my teachers,
    for I meditate on your statutes.
I have more understanding than the elders,
    for I obey your precepts.
I have kept my feet from every evil path
    so that I might obey your word.
I have not departed from your laws,
    for you yourself have taught me.
How sweet are your words to my taste,
    sweeter than honey to my mouth!
I gain understanding from your precepts;
    therefore I hate every wrong path.

& Proverbs 2:1-11

My son, if you accept my words
    and store up my commands within you,
turning your ear to wisdom
    and applying your heart to understanding—
indeed, if you call out for insight
    and cry aloud for understanding,
and if you look for it as for silver
    and search for it as for hidden treasure,
then you will understand the fear of the Lord
    and find the knowledge of God.
For the Lord gives wisdom;
    from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.
He holds success in store for the upright,
    he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,
for he guards the course of the just
    and protects the way of his faithful ones.

Then you will understand what is right and just
    and fair—every good path.
For wisdom will enter your heart,
    and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul.
Discretion will protect you,
    and understanding will guard you.

 

I am so excited to see the Lord already transforming these amazing young people into targeted arrows for the Kingdom of God that are going to be sent out soon into the nations! We just had a week of Repentance & Forgiveness and every student has chosen to open their hearts to the Lord and let His light come in and speak Truth. I’ve watched minds and hearts healed, tears come and forgiveness and confession of their identity in Christ and not in sin bring freedom. Thank you Jesus for Your work on the cross!

Thank you for your prayers, they mean the world to me! You mean the world to me as well, and I pray for you to be filled with all knowledge of the glory of God and with His power.

 

Much love,

Hannah ❤ xoxo

 

IMG_2787

Leave a Reply

